1822 Will of Jonathan Stamper, Ashe County, North Carolina

From Ashe County North Carolina Will Book B, 1828-1838, p. 23:

p. 23 (misspellings as in the original):

“February Term 1831 Alexandria B McMillan being Sworn in open Court deposith To the following as being the last Wil and Testament of Jonathan Stamper deceased (To Wit)

“Known [all] men by these presents That I Johnathan Stamper of Ash County & State of north Carolina being Weak of body but of Sound and Disposing Judgment and knowing That it is appointed for all men once to die do this day make this my last Wil and Testament in manner and form as follows in the first place I Recommend that all my Just debts be paid Secondly the tract of land that I live on of 300 acres my Wife She is to have during her life Time also all hous hold Furniture and Clothing and al[l?] What money may be on hand or owing me She is to have to support her while she lives and after that Each of my Children Being eight alive Gets one Cow a peace the Remainder of my Stock I wat [sic] to be Sold at publick Sale Giving a Reasonable Credit and the money that arises there from to be retained in the hands of my Executors for the use and support of my dureing [sic] her life I give to Son Job a certain mar [sic; mare] and colt Called Bounce and a mare Called yellow and all contracts between Job and my Self concerning land is to Stand Good and binding on me as the contracts mentions between us all Ready maid and at my wifes decease I want all that may then Remain of her property to be Equally divided among my Children that may then be a live and hereby Constitute and appoint my Son Job and my Son in Law John Long Executors to See this my last wil and Testament

“Truly performed according to the True intent and meaning in Witness whereoff [sic; whereof] I hereunto Set my hand and seal this 9th day of Aprill 1822

“[signed] Johnathan Stamper (seal)
Test [i.e. witnessed by]
[A. B. McMillan
John McMillan”

Leave a Reply

