Isaac Reeves Will, 1807, Wilkes County, North Carolina

From Wilkes County [North Carolina] Will Book 2, p. 229:

“May 1808 – Isaac Reaves Will.
In the name of God amen; I Isaac Reeves Senr. of the County of Wilkes & the State of North Carolina being very weak in Body, but of sound memory, thanks be to God for the same Calling to mind my latter end do make & Ordain this my last will & Testament as followith [sic; followeth], in the first place I recommend myself to Almighty God that gave, my Body to be Decently buried after a Christian manner at the discretion of my friends that I have behind me, & my whole estate which it hath been pleased God [sic; which it has pleased God] to bless me with in this world both real & Personal I leave the whole of it to my beloved wife Margery Reeves, & also all Notes or Bonds that I have against any person I also leave to her, & for her to receive them as they become due, & I do hereby make Void all other Wills by me made & make this my last will & Testament, in witness whereof I the said Isaac Reeves senr. have hereunto set my Hand & Seal the 11th day of May AD. 1807. –
[signed] Isaac Reeves (seal)
Sign’d & Seal’d in the Presents [sic; presence] of, –
Chs. Johnson senr.
May Term 1808.
The above will was duly proven in open Court by the Oath of Charles Johnson Senr.
Test
Robt. Martin Clk.”

Leave a Reply

